Join British Cycling

Cyclo-Cross: Ideal for Holmes as he makes it four in a row

London League Round 4
Location: Redbridge Cycling Centre, Hainault, Essex
Event: 28 September 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Winner of the opening three rounds, Matt Holmes (Arctic Premier RT) made it four out of four with victory in Saturday’s senior London League race at the Redbridge Cycling centre in Essex.

But the Gravesend 34-year-old was pushed all the way to maintain his unbeaten run with Matt Webber (London Phoenix) – winner of three rounds of the London Summer Series - matching him all the way through the seven laps of the Hog Hill course, only to miss out in the final sprint.

Southern mountain bike junior champion, Liam Earl (Sutton CC/De Ver Cycles) showed his off-road skills to great effect to win the six-lap race for juniors, veterans and women.

The 17-year-old finished half a minute clear of veteran winner Jon Lyons (GS Invicta), while Dan Tullett (Hargroves Cycles) stamped his class on the youth race to finish nearly three minutes clear of nearest rival Anthony Anderson (Sigma Sport) in a repeat of the round one result.


1 Matt Holmes (Arctic Premier RT) 54-44
2 Matthew Webber (London Phoenix) same time
3 Jack Finch (PM Racing) at 1-14
4 Phil Cooper (Neon-Velo) at 1-20
5 Gary Record (VC Deal) at 1-34
6 Andrew Taylor (Craven Energy) at 1-41
7 Gabor Doroghazi (Fruit 4 London) at 2-57
8 Rob Purcell (Mountain Trax) at 3-06
9 Chris Atkins (Specialized) at 3-28
10 Chris Herring (East London Velo) at 4-15
1 Liam Earl (Sutton CC/De Ver Cycles) 51-12
2 Jon Lyons (GS Invicta) at 30 sec
3 Oliver Priddle (Eastbourne Rovers CC) at 47 sec
4 Mark Smith (Crawley Wheelers) at 55 sec
5 Steve Mahon (East London Velo) at 1-16
6 James Flury (Vicious Velo) at 1-18
7 Joshua Outram (Thanet RC) at 1-22
8 Nick Welsh (GS Invicta) at 1-28
9 Stuart Nisbett (Crawley Wheelers) at 1-33
10 Gavin Williams (BC Private Member) at 1-50
Juniors: 1 Earl, 2 Priddle, 3 Flury
Veterans: 1 Lyons, 2 Smith, 3 Mahon
1 Abi Van Twisk (VC Londres)
2 Sophia Joy (PM Racing)
3 Alice Miller (Look Mum No Hands)
1 Dan Tullett (Hargroves Cycles) 31-08
2 Anthony Anderson (Sigma Sport) at 2-51
3 Tom Easley (Crawley Wheelers) at 3-17
4 Callum Mackie (Lee Valley Youth CC) at 3-49
5 George Finch (Herne Hill Youth CC) at 4-00
6 Martin Blackman (Sutton CC/De Ver Cycles) same time
Girl: Sophia Chastel (Welwyn Wheelers)
1 Sion Margrave (Team Darenth)
2 Harrison Powell (Lee Valley Youth CC)
3 Jamie Walker (Sutton CC/De Ver Cycles)
Girl: Imogen Chastel (Welwyn Wheelers)
1 Tom Davies (Welwyn Wheelers)
2 Lucas Barclay (Arctic SRAM)
3 Cameron Still (Sutton CC/De Ver Cycles)
Girl: Katie Smith (Crawley Wheelers)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.