Join British Cycling

Cross: High five for Holmes in London League

London League Round 5 | London League
Location: Herne Hill Velodrome, Herne Hill, London
Event: 6 October 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Going clear of the field on the first lap, Matt Holmes (Arctic RT SRAM) was never headed as he powered to his fifth straight London League win of the season over a greatly-revised Herne Hill Velodrome course.

The Gravesend 35-year-old finished comfortably clear of Jules Birks (VC Londres), who had tracked Rob Purcell (Neon Velo) for most of the race until going past to secure second place.

Liam Earl (Sutton CC) took to the line fresh from winning the junior race and rode strongly to edge out Kristian Bordely (Cycle Lab) for fourth place.

Louise Mahe (Team Mule Bar Girls) was the early leader in the women’s race, but she was chased down by Sophia Joy (PM Racing, pictured) who cleared the jumps by the biggest margin of everyone to go on to win as Anet Deli (Cycle Lab) moved into second place by the finish.

Earl was given a good run for his money by second-placed Oliver Preddle (Eastbourne Rovers CC) in the junior race, while Steve Mahon (East London Velo) was delighted to win on his maiden outing after an excellent scrap with Stuart McGhee (Evans cycles) and Stuart Nesbitt (Crawley Wheelers) in the veterans.


1 Matt Holmes (Arctic RT SRAM)
2 Jules Birks (VC Londres)
3 Rob Purcell (Neon Velo)
4 Liam Earl (Sutton CC)
5 Kristian Bordely (Cycle Lab)
6 Stuart Spies (London Dynamo)
7 Jack Finch (PM Racing)
8 Chris McGovern (Tam Novo Nordisk)
9 Glen Whittingdon (Bike Science Boardman Elite)
10 Russell Short (London Dynamo)

1 Sophia Joy (PM Racing)
2 Anet Deli (Cycle Lab)
3 Louise Mahe (Team Mule Bar Girls)
4 Alice Miller (Look Mum No Hands)
5 Holly MacMahon (Team Darenth)

1 Liam Earl (Sutton CC)
2 Oliver Preddle (Eastbourne Rovers CC)
3 James Flurry (ViCiOUS Velo)
4 Josh Outram (Thanet RC)
5 Louise Suggett (Prestige VC)

1 Steve Mahon (East London Velo)
2 Stuart McGhee (Evans Cycles)
3 Stuart Nesbitt (Crawley Wheelers)
4 John Cordner (Eastbourne Rovers CC)
5 Stuart Lockyear (London Phoenix)
6 James Stevens (BC Private Member)

Youth: David Barnes (Condor Cycles)
Under-14 Ben Tullett (Hargroves Cycles)

1 Charlotte Cole Hussain (VC Londres)
2 Emily Ashwood (Sutton CC)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.