Join British Cycling

Road: Brooks takes victory in Apres League

Apres Hot Recovery Drink Winter League Round 3
Location: Preston Park, Brighton
Event: 14 December 2013

LAST week’s winner Simon Brooks (VC St Raphael) made it two in a row with a thrilling victory at the end of round three of the Apres Hot Recovery Drink Winter League at Preston Park in Brighton on Saturday.

An aggressive break 15 minutes in from Brooks was joined by Ryan Visser, who read it well knowing they would stay away. Andy Edwards stretched his legs with a 20 minute solo effort finally being reeled back by work from Redhill’s Brian Hennessey.

But in the end experience and power paid dividends with Brooks nailing it from the final corner to ensure another victory in the bag. Ryan rolled in second, whilst a clinical move two laps out from the wily Edwards showed that he's on his way back to some good form taking a clear third spot.

Aggressive racing abounded in both the 3rds and 4ths races, with competitors coming from afar to not just take part in a procession but having proper bike races - great to watch from the grandstand!

In the third cat race a three-man break stayed away after solo efforts from Brighton Mitre's Morgan Lewis and Sorby Hinds Konrad Siebrits.

The fourth cat race was a ding-dong too with Mo Ahmed from London Phoenix wearing himself out trying to get away with Kent cycles Damian Kairns taking it from Sorby Hinds Khan Follina and Gregg Amann.


1 Simon Brooks VC St. Raphael
2 Ryan Visser Redhill CC
3 Andy Edwards Kingston Wheelers
4 Brian Hennessey Redhill CC
5 Steve Cottington Cadence RT
6 Sam Evans Dulwich
7 David Billings Motivo RT
8 Livio Nannetti Rapha Condor

1 Konrad Siebrits Sorby Hinds
2 Jamie Blackman BRC
3 David Billings Motivo RT
4 Chris Herbert Kingston Wheelers CC
5 Simon Parker Crawley Wheelers
6 Lawrence Jones PPYCC
7 Nile Jones PPYCC
8 Sam Evans Dulwich Paragon
9 Gregg Moss Dulwich Paragon
10 Matt Reid Sussex Nomads
11 Morgan Lewis Brighton Mitre
12 Dan Bennett PM
DNF Ross Steiner Sussex Nomads
DNF Viktor Kazinec Dulwich Paragon
DNF Martin Edmonds Brighton Mitre

1 Damian Kairns Kent Cycles
2 Khan Follina Sorby Hinds
3 Gregg Amann Sorby Hinds
4 Richard Giles PM
5 Hill Drury Glendene CC
6 Guy Lane Southborough and District Wheelers
7 Neil Walters SFA CC
8 John Dussek PM
9 Josh Beattie Sussex Nomads
10 Mo Ahmed London Phoenix
11 Andrew Digby Verulam CC
12 Lawrence Wooley Redhill CC
13 Chris Gore Beckenham Rugby Cyclists
DNF Steve Allan Dulwich Paragon
DNF Richard Fish Kingston Wheelers

U12 U14 U16
1 Isaac Wright PPYCC
2 Ashley Evans Dorking CC
3 Lukas Nerurkar PPYCC
4 Abby Old Hillingdon
5 Jack Webb Chard 1st Chard Wheelers

U6 U8 U10
1 Abby Old Hillingdon
2 Jack Webb Chard 1st Wheelers
3 Daniel Allpress Dorking Raiders

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.