Join British Cycling

Cross: Eggar edges victory at Plymouth Moto X Park

3Sixty Performance Cyclo-Cross/South West League Round 10
Location: Plymouth Moto X Park
Event: 1 December 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports
Photos: Alex Law

Riding from the back of the grid, Luke Eggar (Unattached) rode through the field and just edged victory in round ten of the South West League at Plymouth Moto X Park.

3Sixty Performance organised a gruelling round of the league which saw riders take to the Moto-X track with steep climbs and descents, long grass and a short road section.

Eggar, aged 24 and from Watchet, rode his first cyclo-cross race of the season which meant he was un-gridded at the back.

This gave Dexter Hurlock (Mondraker UK) and Matt Loake (Soutfork Racing) the chance to take an early lead from the gun.

Eggar worked his way through the field up to the second group of Matthew Noble and Tim Carpenter (360 Performance) before Eggar jumped across to the leaders.

The leading group of three then picked up the pace which was too much for Loake as he dropped back leaving the two to battle it out on the final lap.

Hurlock looked like he had the beating of Edgar as he pulled out a small gap on the first section of the course before his chain came off leaving Edgar the chance to bridge up to him.

Coming up to the final bend it was Edgar who had enough of an advantage to snatch a fine victory.

First veteran home was Tim Carpenter (360 Performance), first veteran 50+ was Colin Pyron (Wild Bike MTB), first lady was Maddie Horton (Fully Sussed) and first junior was Charlie McFadzean (CS Dynamo)


1 Luke Eggar (Unattached)
2 Dexter Hurlock (Mondraker UK)
3 Matt Loake (Southfork Racing)
4 Matthew Noble (Plymouth CX)
5 Tim Carpenter (360 Performance)
6 Tom Dunn (Hot Pursuits)
7 Steven Hodge (Mondraker)
8 Ben Farrer (Certini)
9 Jay Horton (Fully Sussed)
10 Martin Venney (Kernow Riders)

Juniors: Charlie McFadzean (CS Dynamo)
Women: Maddie Horton (Fully Sussed)
Over-50s: Colin Pyron (Wild Bike MTB)
Over-40s: Tim Carpenter (360 Performance)

Under-16 boy: Ryan Dunn.
Under-16 girl: Evie Lane.
Under-14 boy: Harry Birchill.
Under-14 girl: Charlotte Budgen.
Under-12 boy: Freddy Birchill.
Under-12 girl: Ruby Faun.
Under-10 boy: Robin Smith.
Under-10 girl: Imogen Jones.

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.