Join British Cycling

TT: Kingscavil double for record breaker Lawley

Kingscavil Hill Climb
Location: Philpstoun, West Lothian
Event: 28 September 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Repeating his 2012 success, Steven Lawley (Herbalife-Leisure Lakes became the first rider to break two minutes for the 900-metre Kingscavil climb as he won West Lothian Clarion CC’s popular hill climb for the second year running.

The 29-year-old, from Wishaw in north Lancashire, clocked 1-59 on a day when sunburn was an unexpected problem to win by five seconds from David Griffiths (Glasgow Wheelers).

Third-fastest overall was junior winner Fraser Martin (Perth United CC) in 2-06, and the women’s course record fell to Scottish road race champion Jennifer Taylor (Equipe Velo Ecosse-Montpeliers) who clocked 2-39 for a winning margin of 29 seconds.


1 Steven Lawley (Herbalife-Leisure Lakes 1-59
2 David Griffiths (Glasgow Wheelers) 2-04
3 Jack Taylor (Dumfries CC) 2-11
4 John Glass (West Lothian Clarion CC) 2-14
5 Jarlath Flynn (Edinburgh RC) 2-15
6 Terence McMahon (Glasgow Ivy CC) 2-19


1 Alan Dobbie (BC Private Member) 2-11
2 Matthew Ball (West Lothian Clarion CC) 2-21
3 Gordon Chisholm (Perth United CC) 2-26
4 Scott Johnson (Icarus Racing) 2-28


1 Fraser Martin (Perth United CC) 2-06
2 Brandon Somerville (Royal Navy & Royal Marines CC) 2-32


1 Jennifer Taylor (Equipe Velo Ecosse-Montpeliers) 2-39
2 Peggy Series (Edinburgh RC) 3-08
3 Charlotte Allan (BC Private Member) 3-10
4 Gillian Flynn (BC Private Member) 3-11

Veteran women:

1 Anne Chisholm (Perth United CC)
2 Patricia Kenny (West Lothian Clarion CC) 3-41
3 Debra Pollard (West Lothian Clarion CC) 3-44
4 Elizabeth Henry (West Lothian Clarion CC) 3-47

Youth A Boys:

1 Grant Martin (Perth United CC) 2-20
2 Rian Hill (Classic RT) 2-23
3 Andy Brown (Stirling BC) 2-27
4 John McLeod (Edinburgh RC) 2-28


Youth A Girls:
1 Keira Johnson (Glasgow Riderz) 3-02

Youth B Boys:

1 Sean Flynn (Edinburgh RC) 2-33
2 Alexander Macrae (Glasgow Riderz) 2-32
3 Conner Johnstone (Team Leslie Bike Shop) 2-42
4 Robbie McLaren (Dunfermline CC) 2-48

Youth B Girls:

1 Ellie Park (Glasgow Riderz) 3-23

Youth C Boys:

1 Jamie Johnson (Team Thompson Cycles) 2-49
2 Alfred George (Discovery Junior CC) 2-50
3 Innes Wilson (West Lothian Clarion CC) 3-23
4 Sorley Johnson (Glasgow Riderz) 3-31
Girl: Alison Bryce (West Lothian Clarion CC) 4-05

Youth D Boys:

1 Callum Reid (Stirling BC) 48 sec
2 Max Guthrie (West Lothian Clarion CC) 51
3 Andrew Turner (West Lothian Clarion CC) 54

Youth D Girls:

1 eq Daisy Wilson (West Lothian Clarion CC),1-06

         Katherine MacLeod (Edinburgh RC),1-06

         Abbie Mason (West Lothian Clarion CC) 1-06

Youth E Boys:

1 Finn Mason (West Lothian Clarion CC) 1-02
2 Finlay Turner (West Lothian Clarion CC) 1-25
3 Gabriel Lee (West Lothian Clarion CC) 1-27
Eq 4 Ross Chisholm (West Lothian Clarion CC) 1-29
        Evan McKenzie (West Lothian Clarion CC) 1-29

Youth E Girls:

1 Una Morrice (Glasgow Riderz) 1-39

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.