Join British Cycling

Cross: King cruises to victory in Welsh League R1

Calf-Burner Cross/Welsh League Round 1 | Welsh League
Location: Llantarnam High School, Cwmbran
Event: 22 September 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Former Welsh National Junior champion Adam King (Cardiff JIF) claimed his win of the season with a victory in the Welsh Cross League round one at Cwmbran.

A record turnout of riders attended the first round and they were greeted by perfect conditions on a course which included a mixture of playing field, grass banks and technical woodland track.

King, aged 17, dominated the race from start to finish showing his form which led him to top five finishes in all the National Junior Trophy rounds last season and 26th place in the Junior World Cross Championships.

Coming home in second place in the senior event was Ben Simmons, aged 26, from Newport who took bronze in the Welsh Senior National Championships last season, he finished ahead of Andrew Baum in third.

Top veteran was Tim Davies (CC Abergavenny) who finish a respectable fourth overall, top junior was Alister Williams (Abergavenny RC) and first lady was Donna Morris (

The winner of the youth event was Tomos Nesham (Cardiff JIF) who won the under-14 category overall last season.


1 Adam King (Cardiff JIF) S
2 Ben Simmons (Team Wiggle) S
3 Andrew Baum (unattached) S
4 Tim Davies (CC Abergavenny) V40
5 Lewys Hobbs (Forza Cycles) S
6 Ian Jeremiah (Cardiff JIF) V40
7 Matt Beckett (Cardiff JIF) V40
8 Steven Roach (unattached) S
9 Mark Davies (Forza Cycles) S
10 David Thomas (Cycle-tec) S

Veteran: Tim Davies
Junior: Alister Williams (Abergavenny RC)
Woman: Donna Morris (

1 Tomos Nesham (Cardiff JIF)
2 Teifion Best (Abergavenny RC)
3 Tyler Brennan (West Wales Cycle Racing)
4 Joe Beckingsale (Abergavenny RC)
5 Max Gibbons (Climb On Bikes)

U16 Girl: Elizabeth Bennett (Cardiff JIF)
U14 Boy: Joe Beckingsale
U14 Girl: Megan James (Abergavenny RC)
U12 Boy: Guto Dafydd (Towy Riders)
U12 Girl: Eluned King (Towy Riders)
U10 Boy: Joshua Tarling (West Wales Cycle Racing)
U10 Girl: Heledd Hunt (Towy Riders)
U8 Boy: Alfie Davies (
U8 Girl: Anwen Nesham (Maindy Flyers)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.