Join British Cycling

Cross: King rules at Clerkenhill for second league win

Clerkenhill Cross/Welsh League Round 2 | Welsh League
Location: Slebech, Haverford West
Event: 29 September 2013
Report: Liz Slater/Snowdon Sports

First-round winner Adam King (Cardiff JIF) made it two from two in the Welsh League despite a puncture on the first lap of a tough but dry and fast farmland course at Clerkenhill Adventure Farm.

By the end of the third lap King had regained his position at the front of the field ahead of a chasing group of David Thomas (Cycle-tec), Lewys Hobbs (Forza Cycles), Mark Davies (Forza Cycles) and Joe Lally (CC Abergavenny).

Thomas also punctured and Davies and Lally dropped off the pace, leaving Hobbs to challenge King but to no avail as he settled for second place.

Matt Beckett (Cardiff JIF) came through for fifth place as leading veteran.

“It was good – I was pleased with that,” said King, who is in his first winter out of the junior ranks.

“It was different kind of course to the first round, which was grassy – this was farmland with a big hill and lots of bumps.

“I was lucky that I was quite close to the pits when I punctured so there was no cause for panic and I was able to get back to the group quite quickly.

“I’ll probably be doing a fair few of the national rounds this winter, the first one in two weeks is my local race at Abergavenny so I’m looking forward to that, and I’ll see where it goes from there. I’m in my first year as an under-23 so I’m not really expecting too much.”


1 Adam King (Cardiff JIF)
2 Lewys Hobbs (Forza Cycles)
3 Joe Lally (CC Abergavenny)
4 Mark Davies (Forza Cycles)
5 Matthew Beckett (Cardiff JIF)
6 Lee Davies (Cycle-tec)
7 Mark James (Team Jewson/MI Racing)
8 Richard Holmes (Cyclesense)
9 Grant Johnson (Sunset Cycles)
10 David Thomas (

Veteran: Matthew Beckett
Over-50: Grant Johnson
Junior: Sam Beckingsale (Abergavenny RC)
Woman: Ffion James (Abergavenny RC)

1 Teifion Best (Abergavenny RC)
2 Ioan Thomas (Towy Riders)
3 Finn Thompson (Pembrokeshire Tri Club)
4 Joe Beckingsale (Abergavenny RC)
5 Owain Roberts (Towy Riders)
Under-16 girl: Tanwen Jones (Towy Riders)
Under-14 boy: Joe Beckingsale
Under-14 girl: Megan James (Abergavenny RC)
Under-12 boy: Guto Dafydd (Towy Riders)
Under-12 girl: Eluned King (Towy Riders)
Under-10 boy: Josh Tarling (West Wales Cycle Racing)
Under-10 girl: Heledd Hunt (Towy Riders)
Under-8 boy: Alfie Davies (
Under-8 girl: Alaw Lewis (West Wales Cycle Racing)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.