Join British Cycling

Cross: Thomas wins in Welsh League at Gorseinon

Melin Mynach Cross | Welsh League
Location: Heol y Mynydd, Gorseinon, Wales
Event: 3 November 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

David Thomas (Cycle-tec) secured his first win of the season in the sixth round of the Welsh Cyclo-Cross League at Gorseinon on Sunday.

The 28-year-old from Llandrindod Wells took a hard-earned win after tussling throughout the race with two rivals. However, at the finish he held off Cardiff JIF rival Matthew Thompson and Ryan Bevis (NFTO) for the win.

A repeat of the Round four tussle looked on the cards as Bevis and Thompson led the field out as it completed the start loop and headed out.

The ancient industrial site at Melin Lynach provided a reasonably firm surface, though wet in places after all the recent rain.

Thompson briefly forged a gap on Bevis, with Thomas joining in the chase. By lap five Thomas had distanced himself from Bevis and Thompson but with three laps to go the three were back together again.

First Bevis then Thompson came over the line in front but, finally, it was Thomas who took his first win of the series just ahead of Thompson and with Bevis rolling in for third.

Matthew Beckett (Cardiff JIF) was unable to overhaul CC Abergavenny's Joe Lally for fourth but was rewarded with the win in the Veteran category and club-mate Melanie Alexander was first lady.


1 David Thomas (Cycle-tec) S
2 Matthew Thompson (Cardiff JIF) S
3 Ryan Bevis (NFTO) S
4 Joe Lally (CC Abergavenny) S
5 Matthew Beckett (Cardiff JIF) V40
6 Phil Morris (Dambusters) S
7 Mark James (Team Jewson/MI Racing) V40
8 George Rose (Cycle Coaching Wales) S
9 Grant Johnson (Sunset Cycles) V50
10 Mark Davies (Forza Cycles) S

Veteran: Matthew Beckett
Junior: Jacob Phelps (Cardiff Ajax)
Woman: Melanie Alexander (Cardiff JIF)

1 Tomos Nesham (Cardiff JIF)
2 Ioan Thomas (Towy Riders)
3 Max Gibbons (Climb On Bikes)
4 Oliver Beere (Maindy Flyers) U14
5 Owain Roberts (Towy Riders) U14
U16 Girl: Tanwen Jones (Towy Riders)
U14 Boy: Oliver Beere
U14 Girl: Elena Shaw (Maindy Flyers)
U12 Boy: Guto Dafydd (Towy Riders)
U12 Girl: Eluned King (Towy Riders)
U10 Boy: Joshus Tarling (West Wales Cycle Racing)
U10 Girl: Zoe Backstedt (Maindy Flyers)
U8 Boy: Alfie Davies (
U8 Girl: Anwen Nesham (Cardiff JIF)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.