Join British Cycling

Road: Brooks battled to another Apres victory

Apres Hot Recovery Drink Winter League Round 6
Location: Preston Park, Brighton
Event: 4 January 2014

Despite an unfavourable weather forecast, Saturday brought reasonable riding conditions and a good turnout who enjoyed an action packed day of racing.

In the main event of the day it was Simon Brooks again who showed that he can win in a variety of ways. Repeated attacks by Steve Cottington (Cadence RT) saw him eventually stay clear of the bunch, only to be joined by David Billings of VC St Raphael. The duo worked well together whilst Brooks bided his time in the group.

With 20 minutes to go, Brooks bridged across to Cottington who had dropped the industrious Billings and the two pressed home their advantage before Brooks hit the gas to take another fine win. Jonnie Blackman from Beckenham CC again won a bunch finish and claimed 3rd place.

In the 3rds race it was Blackman again who snatched the victory with a popular win from a big bunch finish, the raucous Beckenham travelling support raising the roof from the grandstand. David Billings (VC St. Raphael) again pushed Blackman close to claim the runner-up spot for the second week running, with Nathan Hereward of Kingston Wheelers showing promise & completing the podium.

Crawley Wheelers dominated the Fourth Cat race with a fantastic last lap dig by Anthony Grey to lead out a rocketing John Pears (Crawley Wheelers) for the win, with Owen Elson (Velosport) pipping Grey for second spot.

The youth racing was fiercely competed with Georg Mew Jensen taking a hard fought win from Patrick Manning and Isaac Wright in the U12/14/16 race. Jack Webb (1st Chard Wheelers) again displayed his dominance in the U10 race, keeping the Somerset club in the top 10 in the national rankings.

There's more action and free Apres - The Hot Recovery Drink at the same time, same place next week!



1. Simon Brooks VC St Raphael

2. Steve Cottington Cadence RT

3. Jonnie Blackman Beckenham RC

4. Chris Herbert Kingston Wheelers

5. Brian Hennessey Redhill CC

6. Nathan Hereward Kingston Wheelers

7. Jason Ginn South Downs Bikes

8. Sam Evans Dulwich Paragon

9. Stuart Adair PM

10. Sam Davies Abergavenny RC

11. Dan Thut London Dynamo

12. John Paul Brophy Neon Velo

13. Jeremy Brougham London Dynamo

14. David Billings VC St Raphael

15. Kieran Barber Redhill CC


1. Jonnie Blackman Beckenham Rugby Cycling

2. David Billings VC St Raphael

3. Nathan Hereward Kingston Wheelers

4. Rupert Robinson Crawley Wheelers

5. Joe McConnell Sorby Hinds

6. Joe Luckett Team GWB acTiv

7. Khan Follina Sorby Hinds CC

8. Matt Reid Sussex Nomads

9. Sean McAuliffe Redhill CC

10. Laurence Jones PPYCC

11. Jonathan Puleston-Jones Dulwich

12. Dougie Fox Crawley Wheelers

13. Simon Parker Crawley Wheelers

14. Dan Thut London Dynamo

15. James Willerton Dorking CC

16. John Paul Brophy Neon Velo

17. Jeremy Brougham London Dynamo

18. Keith Henderson Southborough & Dist W

19. Chris Herbert Kingston Wheelers

20. Sam Evans Dulwich Paragon

21. Kieran Barber Redhill CC

22. Nile Jones iteam cc

23. Justin King Crawley Wheelers

DNF Dan Fagg Brighton Mitre

DNF Trevor Deeble PB Cycle Coaching

DNF Laurence Manning Thames Velo


1. John Pears Crawley Wheelers

2. Owen Elson Velosport

3. Anthony Grey Crawley Wheelers

4. Richard Giles PB Cycle coaching

5. Niall Aitkin Dulwich Paragon

6. Ben Brady Southdown Velo

7. Mark Bennett Kingston Wheelers

8. Gez Reeves Crawley Wheelers

9. Jesse Baines PM

10. Josh Beattie Sussex Nomads

11. Ian Tosh 4T Velo+

12. Simon Dowling Brighton Mitre

13. Seb Donjon Crawley Wheelers

14. Leon Thompson Ipswich BC

15. Chris Gore Beckenham RC

16. Nigel Smith Southborough & Dist W

17. Alice Lethbridge Kingston Wheelers

18. Simon Mercado PM

19. Eddie Bull Sussex Nomads

20. Dustin Wade Beckenham RC

21. Steve Allen Dulwich Paragon

DNF Richard Dolan Beckenham RC


1. George Mew Jensen Lea Valley Youth

2. Patrick Manning GYCC

3. Isaac Wright Preston Park YCC

4. Angus Hawkins PPV

5. Ashley Evans Dorking CC

6. Alexander Tarlton LVYCC

7. Callum Clark Southborough & Dist W

8. Torin Henderson Southborough & Dist

9. Harrison Powell Lea Valley Youth


1. Jack Webb 1st Chard Wheelers

2. Finlay Donjon Crawley Wheelers

3. Ben Flatau Charloteville Rascals

4. William Flatau Charloteville

5. Daniel Allpress Dorking Rascals

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.