Join British Cycling

Road: Black wins Leicester Forest Road Race

Webster Cycles/Leicester Forest CC Road Race
Location: Lutterworth, Leicestershire
Event: 28 September 2013
Report: Ian Nutt/Snowdon Sports

The final round of the EMEG Race Series for 2013 was won by Dion Black of Kenilworth Wheelers after an afternoon of close racing on the Bruntingthorpe Circuit.


A full field of 80 riders set out on the nine and three-quarter laps of the undulating circuit in warm, dry but breezy conditions.

Early attacks, including one from the host club's Chris Orgill, amounted to nothing and the bunch stayed together for much of the race.

As the bunch crossed the line at the end of the second lap, a touch of wheels resulted in Callum Grieve of Loughborough Students CC hitting the ground and taking a nasty blow to his elbow.

With three laps to go, a group of ten riders, including the top three finishers began to carve out a slender advantage. Working together, this group extended its lead before fracturing further.

Black, Robert Watkinson of Doncaster Wheelers and Simon Alexander of Bush Healthcare CRT went away and spent the final couple of laps building their lead and approached the final sprint around 30 seconds clear of the remnants of the breakaway.

The race finished on the outskirts of the village of Ashby Magna at the top of a steady drag. Black went early and had the strength to stay away, winning by five bike lengths from Watkinson with Alexander a similar distance back.

Black was delighted with the win and whooped as he crossed the line. The remainder of the breakaway came in ahead of the main peloton but the damage done by the lead three was clear. Last year's winner Carl Dyson of Clay Cross RT won the sprint for line in the main bunch, claiming only 11th place.


1 Dion Black - Kenilworth Wheelers CC
2 Robert Watkinson - Doncaster Wheelers
3 Simon Alexander - Bust Healthcare CRT
4 Ben Last – Clay Cross RT
5 Luke Beswick - Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles
6 Phil Giles - Beeston RC
7 Paul Newton - Derby Mercury
8 Rob Fletcher – Arbis-Colbert Cycles
9 Joseph White – Unattached
10 Giles Pidcock - Chevin
Best 4th category:
Peter Anderson
Best Leicester Forest Rider:
Robin Cawser

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.