Join British Cycling

Details announced for Lincoln round of British Cycling Elite Road Series

Lincoln Grand Prix | British Cycling Elite Road Series | Get into road racing
26 February 2014
Written by: Eddie Allen
Image: Andrew Kennedy

Peter Kennaugh celebrates his 2013 Lincoln Grand Prix win.

Route details have been announced for the 59th edition of the Lincoln Grand Prix, part of the British Cycling Elite Road Series.

Taking place on 11 May, the event will use the same route as the 2015 British Cycling National Road Race Championships announced earlier in the year.

The route, which comprises of a main loop and city centre finishing circuit, will also be used for the West Common Junior Races, part of the British Cycling Junior Road Series.

Senior riders will complete two laps of the start loop and eight laps of the finishing circuit while juniors will complete one lap of the start loop and four circuits of the finishing loop.

Both events will finish in Lincoln’s Castle Square and will feature multiple climbs of the infamous Michaelgate one-in-six cobbled climb in Lincoln city centre, which has seen numerous decisive attacks throughout the event’s 59-year history; most recently in 2013 when Team Sky’s Peter Kennaugh, riding in Isle of Man colours, took an emphatic solo victory.

The event will also provide organisers with valuable experience ahead of the 2015 national road championships, with the distances of the senior and junior events replicating those of the 2015 men’s and women’s road races respectively.

Next year’s event will coincide with the 60th running of the Lincoln Grand Prix and the city’s wider 800th anniversary Magna Carta celebrations.

The May event is the final of three events in the British Cycling Spring Cup and will also encompass the Lincoln Grand Prix Sportive, which takes place on Saturday 10 May.